Easy peasy bean and chickpea mash

This recipe is so laughably simple that I almost hesitate to put is up as a recipe, but then it is so ridiculously tasty that I couldn’t not share…

I came up with this one night when I was, quite uncommonly for me, craving mashed potatoes. However looking at the time there was no way that I had the patience to wait for the potatoes to boil, come on it takes like forever! (OK so maybe not, just indulge me on this one…)

Butter beans works best for this as they mash up really smoothly, I like the flavour of chickpeas in the mix although that makes the mash a little less smooth. If you have a blender or food processor you can probably get the mix of the two even smoother, or you can just use all butter beans for a smoother texture, I will admit that I quite like it with a little bit of a bite to it.

bean-mash-ingredients

Ingredients

1 can butter beans
1 small can chickpeas
1 clove of garlic
1-2 tablespoons butter (I used goat butter as that is what I had, I am sure olive oil will be lovely too. I just felt like butter when I made it)
1-2 dl milk (I used almond milk as that is what I had)

How to

Pour the butter beans and chickpeas into a colander and rinse off. (I really don’t like the texture of the water in the cans too slimy for me. However that is my personal hang up so you don’t have to rinse them off if you don’t mind) Put the beans into a pan with a little bit of water and warm through, you only want enough water to make sure that the beans don’t burn but heat evenly.

While the beans are warming up finely chop or grate the garlic, and heat the butter (or oil if you chose that) in a frying pan over low to medium heat. When the butter is melted but not too hot sauté the garlic for a few minutes, enough for it to flavour the butter but be careful as the garlic gets too dark really fast. (I may or may not have had to do this step twice…) If you want a more subtle garlic flavour don’t mince the garlic, just crush the garlic clove slightly fry it for a couple of minutes to infuse the butter with garlic and then discard before the next step.

Add the butter garlic mixture to the now warm beans and start to mash them up, use the milk of your choice to reach desired consistency. I like the mash quite thick so I only use a small amount of milk.

mash-pour-mix-serve

All that remains to do is to:

Bean-mash-savour

bean-mash-serve-it-up

I served this for dinner with my fennel and sundried tomato salad and the fantastic Millet Black Bean Patties with Corn from Teri Walter’s Clean Food I got the recipe via No Meat Athlete. I really want this cook book, the recipes I’ve tried so far has been amazing! I also added a really easy green salad, basically just rocket, spinach and pumpkin  seeds finished off with a drizzle of olive oil. Super easy meal and totally delicious!

About Mari

Norwegian living in Malta, loves colours and cooking, running and taking pictures and generally rambling, both the in the wordy sense and the walking about kind...
This entry was posted in Beans, Chickpeas, Food, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Easy peasy bean and chickpea mash

  1. Pingback: Weekend Wanderings… (and a short update on vegan beanmash) | Orange & Green

Leave a Reply

