One Hit Wonder Wednesday and something completely different…

Sometimes a song is both really silly and really catchy… That makes for a great one hit wonder surely, I found this version from Top of the Pops which is wonderfully bizarre and very very 80s… By the way Dexys Midnight Runners are really only a one hit wonder in the USA, but chances are this is the only song most people have heard. They also have runners in their name so I had to approve right?

Oh and as I am easily amused, and remember very clearly trying to make sense of English song lyrics long before my English was at a level where that was possible… Here’s the “misheard lyrics version”…

Because a little bit of Monty Python is never wrong…

And because I wanted to write about something completely different… Mainly Biffy Clyro! This is a Scottish band that I rather love, and they have been touring in the US recently with Foo Fighters, YES I KNOW! FOO FIGHTERS! How cool is that? Anyways this is one of my favourite songs of theirs, the lyrics are particularly wonderfully confusing… (Did I get slightly lost in the adverbs there?)

Oh and I know what you are thinking I just made a perfect opening for posting some Foo didn’t I? Why, yes I did! Here you go… (Gotta be a ballad as it is getting late here ;-) )

About Mari

Norwegian living in Malta, loves colours and cooking, running and taking pictures and generally rambling, both the in the wordy sense and the walking about kind...
This entry was posted in Music, One Hit Wonder Wednesday, Random, Rock. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to One Hit Wonder Wednesday and something completely different…

  1. Dexy’s Midnight Runners video made me smile today. I’m an 80’s-90’s fan. The music are timeless save for the bizarre dress up or is it now considered a costume ? Ha, ha, ha! I wonder what Madonna is thinking every time somebody post her old pics? Well, we’ve all been part of that era and it was awesome ! Although, I still have to brace myself each time I look at my elementary and high school pictures but I’m glad that I don’t have to reminisce those ” spray net” hair masterpieces that my sisters had to go through. Great post!

    • Mari says:

      Thank you!

      That particular performance of that song had just the right mixture of hilarity and nostalgia… You know I think you are right, it would be a costume now, even though there seems to be aerious 80s moment in fashion at the moment.

      Uh oh school pictures, yeah definitely som shockers there!

  2. chems luc says:

    there is a french proverb: “c est dans les vielles marmites qu on fait les bonnes soupes…” ,
    It s interesting to make a link between past and present, however i hope that singers honour the original songs in their modifications ; because covering means continuation in music with link between your grandparents and your sons… as your photos in your microblog;

Leave a Reply

