Secret Santa and other musings

Green-bauble

 

December is my favourite month, not only is it my birth month, but I do love Christmas, always have done. This year have been a little strange in many ways. I am all by myself in a city that is not yet home, and yes single again. I am not saying that I am sad in any way, I am not, sometimes a little wistful perhaps, and yes I will admit at times a bit lonely. However, every time I feel like I might feel a little sad inevitably something great happens. Not necessarily any thing big, but something that brings a huge smile to my face and makes the world alright again. (Like reading really stupid jokes in a window: Which athlete is warmest in winter? A long jumper… Yes I totally laughed out loud in the middle of the street, bliss!)

The blogger Secret Santa arranged by Laura over at Keeping Healthy Getting Stylish was another one of those little things. Not only did I enjoy picking out a gift for my blogger, Rachel, read her lovely and so kind blog of getting my gift here, the gift from my Secret Santa arrived on a day when I totally needed a lift!

Oh and did she ever do a great job!

The-Stash

 

Neat stash don’t you think? All courtesy of Hannah over at Mindrunningwild (love the blog name!). Not only did she somehow manage to divine that pistachios are my favourite nut and find a pistachio butter. I seriously had no idea they even did one of them… BUT a dairy free toffee brittle chocolate, totally wonderful! It might not have lasted unopened long after the pictures were taken, so what that it was before 9 am…

Bar-stack

 

I obviously had to do a close up of the bars, and unbeknownst to me at the time my favourite of the lot is actually on top. This is totally not a flavour I would have chosen myself as I tend to be swayed by the mention of chocolate, and stay far away from anything that mentions icing. However that Luna bar was pure perfection, oatmeal and raisin is a classic of course, but the balance here was just right and the icing added just the right touch of sweetness. Thanks for the introduction to this bar Hannah.

Gold-bauble

 

Tomorrow is the big summary of everybody that took part in the Secret Santa on Laura’s blog, and I am really looking forward to reading all about it! I also hope to discover a fair few new blogs! Then on Friday it is my birthday… I will definitely come back with more about that one later, it is a big one too! (I got all my baubles from Liberty, their Christmas Shop is a little too good…)

White-bauble

About Mari

Norwegian living in Malta, loves colours and cooking, running and taking pictures and generally rambling, both the in the wordy sense and the walking about kind...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Secret Santa and other musings

  1. Olga says:

    I can see you on one of the photos! that’s my favourite part of any shiny thing photo))

  2. Mari says:

    I know! At one point in the photoediting it was even more visible, I went for the understated look in the end ;)

  3. TBM says:

    I love your positive attitude! And laughter is wonderful medicine!

Leave a Reply

