Songs you (probably) shouldn’t sing in public…

Now I have a tendency to sing along when I listen to music, yes I know it probably sounds horrible (especially when wearing earphones…), but it makes me happy! However I do try to limit it in public spaces, you know walking down the street, sitting on the bus, at work etc. etc. I also like to randomly sing to myself walking around, again don’t ask.

I once met a woman doing the same when leaving the underground back home in Norway, and it made me smile for a whole 5 minutes, so I figure it might have some positive effect on the world in general.

I have also come to realise that there are certain songs that you would do well not to sing in public… I’m sure you know what I mean, there is normally this one line that gets stuck in your head and you suddenly find yourself bursting into song at the most inopportune moments. Now if the song is say New York, New York or Over the Rainbow you’ll probably be OK. However if the song in question is exhibit 1 below, it is another matter…

Exhibit 1:

Even if this is not your kinda music you got to admit the the chorus is extremely catchy! So catchy in fact that I was singing the bit from the ooh oh oh oh to the end of the sentence more or less an entire day. Not such a good idea my friends, people might just shake their head at you, however they just might take it personally…  A large percentage of Prince’s output also falls into this category, but then it’s Prince so it’s OK(ish). Exhibit 2 is in another category altogether.

Exhibit 2:

There are times when singing “UFO, hello!” would be perfectly fine, yes even welcome. Like say at a UFO spotting party, you would certainly get a cheer and cause general merriment. However it might lead to bitter disappointment when nobody else can spot it. My argument is that in everyday life it might not be such a great idea, mind it probably would be funny…

Exhibit 3:

Sometimes when you have heard a song many times and you know exactly what happens next (one hit wonders really are the “best” for this), you will find yourself bursting into song at the first line of the chorus and then realising what you are doing getting embarrassed and quieten down. With this song I would advice you to keep singing…

Exhibit 4:

Trust me… Just really really really bad for your street cred…

Exhibit 5:

OK no reason really apart from the fact that if you sing this one in my vicinity I will hate you forever, (well at least for about 5 seconds…) as I will now have that song firmly stuck on my mind for at least a week… Wait I just reminded myself of it’s existence, bother!

I predict a riot, I predict a riot…

About Mari

Norwegian living in Malta, loves colours and cooking, running and taking pictures and generally rambling, both the in the wordy sense and the walking about kind...
This entry was posted in Music, Random, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

