I thought this was beautiful…

Sometimes you read or hear something that is just so profoundly beautiful that you have to fight back the tears if you are in public or just let them fall if you are not… I had one of those moments earlier today and thought I’d share:

Allt, allt jag ägde
var ditt mer än mitt.
Allt jag vackrast ville
var ditt, ditt, ditt.

Karin Boye

The words are by the Swedish poet Karin Boye, and they are quoted in a book I read at the moment. Iwill definitely write more about this book as it is heartbreakingly beautiful, however this poem in it self was worth the read.

I am by no means a poet and my English translation does not do justice to the elecance and beauty of the original, but here is the translation to the best of my ability:

All, all I owned
was yours more than mine
all my most beautiful wants
were yours, yours yours.

My rendition does not do it justice, there might be a proper translation out there…
Blog

About Mari

Norwegian living in Malta, loves colours and cooking, running and taking pictures and generally rambling, both the in the wordy sense and the walking about kind...
This entry was posted in Love, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

