Very short post about running…

I ran for the first time as part of the half-marathon training plan today, 3 miles in just over half an hour… Can’t say I’ve got much speed yet, I ran midday too, each time I do I am reminded why I like to run in the morning.

Less people I have to run slalom around, less warm (and it is not even warm here yet, I have no idea how I am going to cope in the summer…), I also have a feeling that the air is somehow fresher in the morning? This could be my imagination, but it certainly feels like it. I have also come to the conclusion that unfortunately bananas are bad running fuel for me, a bit of a bother really as I really like them and they are so convenient. However my stomach does not like them, so I guess I have to listen. Apples and oranges are the hottest contenders to replace bananas for now.

I still haven’t actually signed up for a half-marathon in late May, still undecided really. I am looking at these though:

  1. Edinburgh Half-marathon
  2. Stornoway Half Marathon

Edinburgh really is the most practical option, although I sorta fancy running a half marathon in the Outer Hebrides, sounds pretty mental that’s for sure! However with it being such a small race the chance of finishing last is a lot larger, part of it is on trails though which I really like! Mind with Scottish weather those can be interesting to say the least. The Edinburgh race has a 42 m drop throughout the course and is apparently good if you’re going for a PR. Now this ain’t a big concern of mine, because as long as I finish I will get a PR… šŸ˜‰

Well bedtime now, tomorrow is cross training or running 2 miles . Since I don’t have any cross training option at the moment, sea is too cold for swimming thank you very much, I guess I am up early for 2 miles. Vibrams run I think!

About Mari

Norwegian living in Malta, loves colours and cooking, running and taking pictures and generally rambling, both the in the wordy sense and the walking about kind...
This entry was posted in Half-marathon, Running, Scotland. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Very short post about running…

  1. Coco says:

    Wow, good luck Mari. I always loved running when I was young. I had hip replacement and now I can’t run… :/ Enjoy running in the morning fresh air. Must be so nice!

Leave a Reply

