My grandmother’s fleskepannekaker (bacon pancakes)

In honour of pancake day I thought I would post this recipe that my grandmother used to make, she might still make it actually come to think of it, and chances are that her’s will be better than mine. Not that there is a competition really is it? After all the way grandma makes it tends to be best, although I must say that my dad certainly is a contender!

Another reason hers probably beat mine is that her frying pan is probably a lot better than mine… Not that this takes much as I came to realise when I was making these yesterday (yeah I had to make them a day in advance to get them on here today…). These pancakes have more in common with crepes than the thick American type, and whilst the latter works fine in my cheapo pan the former turned out to be a disaster!

It is at this point that you find yourself trying to fry pancakes in a pot, as I mentioned in my post yesterday, OK I guess it was 2 minutes past midnight so earlier today that is. When I looked at my current cooking equipment I realised that the only pot or pan with any merit was a fairly newish non-stick pot, so well that one would have to do! How was a little more complicated, lets just say it included two plates, and a lot of fast flipping around of stuff and a little bit of tossing. It did work though, sort of…

Anyhow, lets get on to that recipe. As it is from my grandmother I should really say that you can’t change anything as this is obviously the best way to do it… However that would be a little hypocritical of me as I went ahead an altered it slightly, because I would not be me if I didn’t feel like experimenting and had all the ingredients. One of those are bound to happen at any old time…

Ingredients

3 dl all purpose flour
1/2 tsp salt

8 dl milk
4 eggs

chopped leek or chives
bacon, fried in advance and chopped into small pieces

butter for frying (traditional recipe means bring on the butter!)

All-ingredients
(Of course the bacon is by itself on purpose, it’s not like forgetting to include it in the picture is something I would ever do…)

Mix together flour and salt, then add the milk a little at a time. Not adding it all in one go makes it easier to get rid of lumps as you can stir them out easier in a thicker batter. Whisk the eggs first and then add them to the batter. Last stir in the chives/leek.

If you are doing this properly you should now let the batter sit for at least half an hour, yeah that didn’t happen, but you really should do it you know…

Fry as you normally would pancakes over medium heat, however here these differ from crepes. You do not want them to be leaf thin as they are, these are a more hefty savoury kind of beast. Aim for a thickness between 3-4 mm I would say, pour batter into the pan and then sprinkle some of the bacon before the top hardens. When the top is solid flip around (elegantly I am sure if you have a proper frying pan….) and fry for a short time on the other side.

pancake-in-pan

Stack the pancakes and serve them cut into quarters, why you said? Because my grandma does that’s why! 😉

bacon-pancakes

Normally you would serve these with boiled potatoes and a vegetable of your choice. I chose to roast the potatoes as they would be out of my way, and while I was at it I threw in some broccoli to roast as well. I also added a green salad, because I feel the need for green!

Now about variations… I did not use all purpose flour (Italian tipo 00 would work even better actually), as I did not have any to hand. So I used spelt flour and added 1/4 extra as tend to be necessary with this type of flour. Furthermore I did not have, and could not find any leek or chives so I chose to sub a finely chopped shallot and finely chopped spinach. I will readily admit that the spinach was added for getting the familiar flecks of green rather than flavour as I did not add enough for it to be noticeable. However this is nostalgic food for me so it’s got to look the part! 😉 It tasted rather nice and authentic so I guess it wasn’t too much…

bacon-pancakes-again

As an endnote, today is the International Women’s Day, it is also the centinary of the introduction of this day! Annie Lennox has been tweeting up a storm all day, sharing statistics quotes and the like. Below are some of my favourites

From @AnnieLennox on twitter:

  • 40 million people, 80% of them women and children, are forced to leave their homes because of armed conflict #equals www.weareequals.org
  • of the world’s 188 directly elected leaders, just 16 are women #equals #joinwomen #IWD Join the debate – http://www.weareequals.org
  • “To protect women in times of war, we must first make sure women receive equal rights in times of peace.” Martti Ahtisaari #IWD
  • women perform 66% of the world’s work, earn 10% of world’s income and own 1% of the world’s property www.weareequals.org
  • Gender equality in agriculture could increase production & cut number of hungry people by 100-150 million http://bit.ly/dWPeqd

We still have a long way to travel, but I am eternally grateful to the amazing women that has fought to give me the rights I enjoy today. However, it is not time to be complacent just yet…

About Mari

Norwegian living in Malta, loves colours and cooking, running and taking pictures and generally rambling, both the in the wordy sense and the walking about kind...
This entry was posted in Bacon, International Women's Day, Pancakes, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

