London Calling…

I am flying out to London tomorrow afternoon, mainly for a work trip, but as we have the weekend as well I get to explore a bit.

Another reason that this is great is that I really need new running shoes, and the choice is considerably larger in London. I am looking for a neutral shoe along the lines of New Balance 890 or maybe Newtons, I will admit to being rather partial to the idea behind Brooks’ “The Green Silence“, however in the end it really comes down to which shoe feels good on the foot.

I am totally that awkward customer that will try on every shoe in the shop, you see most running shoes just hurt the minute I put them on. I am not sure what it is, however my thought is that if it hurts from the beginning it is not likely to get better 5 miles or more into a run. So cue huge pile of discarded shoes…

I am also quite eager to try out the vegan food on offer around town, I have had a look on-line and it look rather impressive! Fortunately for me the office is in Camden so finding vegan lunch and dinner options is a piece of cake! (oh and I can find that too!!!) I might try my hand as a food cricket whilst I am there. Yes I know that it is called a critic really. This term goes back to when I noted that a cake I was sharing with my boyfriend was rather bland (which it was). His retort was: “You are turning into one of those food crickets”, gotta hand it to the native speakers to coin great phrases! I quite like the term food cricket, it sounds more like someone who goes on and on about food, rather than try to find a reason for marking something down. So it basically describes me better…

Oh and I am totally heading to Whole Foods in Kensington!

I will leave you with this:

About Mari

Norwegian living in Malta, loves colours and cooking, running and taking pictures and generally rambling, both the in the wordy sense and the walking about kind...
This entry was posted in Food, Rock, Running, vegan and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to London Calling…

  1. bearrunner says:

    Do they really have better shoe selection in London? I am neutral also and use the NB 759’s.. Love them!
    Have a great trip, business and pleasure!

    cheers

    • The shoe selection on Malta might be great actually, it is me that is clueless as to where to look. I know my way around London much better, which is a little pathetic really…

      I hope to be able to locate the NB’s never actually tried on a pair!

Leave a Reply

