Weekend Wanderings… (and a short update on vegan beanmash)

This weekend was rather low key, the first one so far this year when the weather is really starting to feel summery. Which lead to me feeling a little more lazy than usual, OK so I did run just over 6 miles on Sunday morning and that might have been a contributing factor too…

Whilst I carried my camera with me all day today and yesterday I wasn’t in a  very snap-happy mood. This happens only very rarely… For some reason what I found fascinating was this window on an old house in Sliema in the way out to Tigne Point.

Window-Sliema-again
And I didn’t take just one picture…

Window-Sliema

Clouds-over-Gzira-and-Msida
There were some really cool clouds over Gzira and Msida…

somewhat-disturbing-statue
For some reason the establishment where we decided to have lunch today thought that this was a good window decoration, the Mr found it somewhat disturbing… Can’t say I blame him!

So to make up for the fact that I was not too inspired to take photos this week I am going to share some vintage pictures of Valetta, these are from back in February on another sunny day!

Cafe-Dimitri-Valetta

Facade-Valetta-Texture
I find that quite often what attracts me to a certain motive is the textures. This facade in Valetta is a case in point, I just love the contrasts going on here!

Valetta-Skyline
Not quite NYC skyline, but very Maltese and rather pretty…

Shabby-door-Valetta
I have a thing for scruffy looking stuff… (Yeah I totally borrowed from Star Wars, I did warn that I have major geek tendencies… Did I mention that I collect fonts?)

Flower-Valetta
I really like how this almost looks abstract when you get this close, macro lens is definitely on the wish list…

Valetta-facade-again
Such a clean and graphic looking wall, loved it!

Paul's-store-Valetta
Remember what I said about scruffy…

Gate-Valetta
No comment 😉

A-bit-o-wire
Anything can be beautiful…

Shabby-chic-Valetta
This is the epitome of shabby chic…

View-of-Manoel-Island
To round it off, the view towards Manoel Island from the ferry towards Sliema from Valetta.

I mentioned when I wrote the recipe for my easy peasy bean mash that it could probably quite easily be made vegan. Today I did just that, and oh my did it work!

Vegan butter bean mash

1 cup cooked butter beans (or 1 can)
1/2 cup milk of choice (I used rice milk, however I would suggest using one that is somewhat less sweet, such as oat milk or unsweetened almond milk)
1 clove of garlic
ca. 2 T olive oil

1. Cook the butter beans, I boiled mine with kombu and asafoetida to help with digestion, I also accidentally cooked them a little too long so they were already soft. I made a big batch and froze portion sizes you can easily use tinned ones to, then just rinse off the beans and put them in a pot.
2. Simmer the beans and milk until heated through and thick.
3. Meanwhile chop the garlic and fry gently in the olive oil.
4. Using a rubber spatula dump all the oil and garlic into the bean and milk mix.
5. Stir, mash and devour!

Easy as that, and this gets really velvety and lovely. If the beans are already cooked it also takes just minutes to prepare!

About Mari

Norwegian living in Malta, loves colours and cooking, running and taking pictures and generally rambling, both the in the wordy sense and the walking about kind...
This entry was posted in Beans, Flowers, Food, Photography, Recipes, Valletta, vegan. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

