Freedom Day – Vittoriosa

So yesterday was Freedom Day here on Malta, which meant freedom from work!

Which gave me time to fill the day with lots of exciting stuff like:

  • Going for a run.
  • Practicing running slalom between all the people that thought that this sunny public holiday was perfect for a stroll. (They were totally right, almost too warm to run though)
  • Avoiding getting run over by the multitude of cars driving somewhere to enjoy the above mentioned public holiday.
  • Doing laundry (admittedly I contributed only very little to this venture)
  • Freaking out that you are 3 hours late for work when showering after above mentioned run at noon.
  • Realising that you are not supposed to work on public holidays…
  • Getting on a bus and going somewhere else to take pictures and hang out!

Which is what we eventually did… Vittoriosa is one of the so called 3 cities and one of my favourite places on Malta. (Please note the nifty little use of grammar to distinguish between the island of Malta as opposed to the country of Malta, which consist of the inhabited islands of Malta, Gozo and Comino (very few people on Comino granted). On refers to only the island of Malta, if I had used in it would be the whole country, aren’t you happy I took the time to explain this?)

Flags-Vittoriosa

Freedom day means bring out the flags that’s for sure! Makes perfect sense really… Also I should add that the day is commemorating the withdrawal of British troops and Royal Navy from Malta.

Freedom-Monument-Vittoriosa

This is part of the Freedom Monument in Vittoriosa… If I had realised that I was at the Freedom Monument on Freedom Day, I would have at least attempted to get a photo of the whole thing, or a more decent one of just this. Ach well, nobody is perfect…

Boomerang-Lounge-Bar-Vittoriosa

I did however get a picture of the Boomerang Lounge Bar, and that’s gotta count for something right???

Harbour-Vittoriosa

This is the harbour in Vittoriosa (Birgu), the flags that you can see on the other side of the water are in the city of Senglea. Keep up now!

Boats-to-Valetta

For a pretty reasonable sum you can get one of these boats to take you accross to Valetta and as we found out when my parents visited and we were in a little bit of a hurry to cathch a flight. They are actually a lot more effective than taking the bus, granted you need to walk up a heck of a lot of stairs on the Valetta side, but nobody in my family was ever afraid of climbing stuff…

Muzew-Marittimu-Vittoriosa

Malta Maritime Museum, a pretty cool MMM acronym eh? Muzew Marittimu does have a nice ring to it too…

Old-Crane-Musew-Marittmu

This is outside of the MMM, I liked the contrast of the metal crane and the stone building, as well as the one single red detail!

Tate-Maltas-only-vegetarian-restaurant

Ladies and Gentlemen, I present to you Tate Malta’s only vegetarian restaurant, funnily enough this one has been our regular each time we’ve been in Vittoriosa and we had not noticed that it was all vegetarian… It is not mentioned anywhere on the menu and it really does not stare you in the face, they even had more than one vegan option. That is luxury here I’m telling you!

My-dinner

This was my dinner, sorry about the less than stellar photo, the sun here is pretty constant… Anyhow this was nice by all means, not mind blowing but very filling. I am pretty sure I could have made it myself, probably better, but then the point is that I didn’t need to… I might not have thought of this combo though, might try to recreate it, to see if I can indeed make it better. 😉

Cloudscape-over-Senglea

Have I mentioned before that I have a thing for clouds? See those Cumulus Congestus starting to build on the horizon, and how beautifully it contrasts with the higher layer of Altocumulus, looks like there might even be some wisps of cirrus up there, pretty cool eh? (You know I did warn you about me being a geek, so what do you expect?) I am by no means a cloud expert though, more of a cloud enthusiast. I have a tendency to think oooh pretty, rather than analyse which clouds they are, the above is what I think. It might not be 100% right, but then cloud classification is not an exact science, so it’s probably best just to look at the picture…

Signs-Vittoriosa

OK back on the ground… I thought these signs looked cool, that’s all…

Stairs-door-Vittoriosa

A shabby door, a stair to create some movement, sorta interesting background, you know I would be taking a picture…

Stairs-church-Vittoriosa

I like the depth of this picture, with the dark and more desaturated foreground contrasted with the more colourful and lighter background.

Church-Vittoriosa

In Mdina all the electricity is underground, not so in Vittoriosa. Giving it an overall less polished look, I gotta admit I sort of like it. It makes for some interesting juxtapositions.

Balconies-Vittoriosa

Shabby, check; interesting texture; check, picture taken, most definitely check…

Freddies-Salon-Vittoriosa

OK, OK! Bad joke, but after all it was freedom day…

Now it is time for the weekend!!!!

About Mari

Norwegian living in Malta, loves colours and cooking, running and taking pictures and generally rambling, both the in the wordy sense and the walking about kind...
This entry was posted in Malta, Photography, Random, Thoughts, Uncategorized, vegan, Vittoriosa. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

