Chocolate covered acai berry cookies… (vegan & gluten free)

This all started when I bought some dark chocolate covered acai berries this morning, as you do…

For some reason instead of thinking about eating them as they were I thought: “Hey! I bet these babies make great cookies…”

Well when you get cookies on your brain like that you gotta act on the urge, trust me resistance is futile…

So I started looking for vegan cookie recipes on-line, there are a lot actually, however I checked out my two favourite bloggers for vegan treats, Angela at Oh She Glows and Ashley at (never home)maker, in this instance this recipe on (never home)maker grabbed my attention. I followed the link to the original recipe at Wing it Vegan, winging it pretty much sums up my cooking style so clearly this site is a hit with me!

In the spirit of things I ended up winging it rather a lot, but I will say that in spirit these are still Wing it Vegan’s Mutant Flourless Chocolate Cookies, how awesome is that name for a cookie? I am not that creative a namer, at least not today, so I made:

Chocolate-covered-acai-berry-cookies

As this is not an original recipe by me I am not going to write out the whole thing, that main ingredients and the step by step method can be found here at Wing it Vegan. However I did, of course, change things up a little… You know, it’s not like I can help it… 😉 So below I have listed the substitutions that I did.

cookies-n-cocoa

OK so here is what I did:

Instead of 1/2 cup brown sugar I used 1/3 cup of rapadura sugar and 1 T mesquite meal (this was because I knew I would be playing around with the nut butter so I would need less sugar, the mesquite is completely optional if you don’t have it just leave it out)

Instead of 1/2 cup almond butter I used almost 1/2 cup dark chocolate dreams if you can’t find it you can use this recipe from Angela to make your own, for it to be totally authentic use peanuts instead of almonds. Melting some dark chocolate and adding it to normal almond or peanut butter would also work swimmingly! I did not quite have enough left of the dark chocolate dreams to make up the full 1/2 cup, the reason for the substitution was because I am precious about my almond butter! It is a little difficult to find here. (Tends to be sold out…) Of course I also thought it would give a deeper chocolate flavour, which surely does not hurt!

Instead of 1/2 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips I used the same amount of dark chocolate covered acai berries, this was so so good! The chocolate was decadent as always, but the berries themselves are not all that sweet so they added a lovely zing to the cookies. Great idea!

I didn’t have any macadamia nuts roasted or not, so I used 1/4 cup of flaked almonds. The ones I had were raw, so I dusted them with a little cinnamon and toasted them in the over for a few minutes at about 200 degrees. Lovely I tell you, I could eat these without the cookies, but I had to restrain myself and put them in the dough.

The rest of the ingredients were exactly the same, such clever cookies and vegan and gluten free to boot, score!

cookies-almond-flakes

About Mari

Norwegian living in Malta, loves colours and cooking, running and taking pictures and generally rambling, both the in the wordy sense and the walking about kind...
This entry was posted in Almonds, Chocolate, Cinnamon, Cookies, Food, Gluten free, Recipes, vegan. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Chocolate covered acai berry cookies… (vegan & gluten free)

  1. Coco says:

    Talk about creativity… wow… you got a whole lot of creative mind..
    I got a few vegan friends to please.. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Orange Chocolate Covered

  3. Pingback: Ginger & Lemon Cookies (vegan & gluten free) | Orange & Green

  4. Tanya says:

    Most dark chocolate covered acai berries contain milk, making them unsuitable for vegans, and confectioners glaze (made with the Lac beetle) so they are not even vegetarian.

  5. Tem says:

    Where did you get the acai berries? The dark chocolate covered acai berries from Brookstone aren’t vegan… Those have milk..

    • Mari says:

      Sorry I’ve been totally MIA, I do not know the Brookstone brand. At the time of writing I lived in Malta, and they were from a European brand and my local health store marked with the vegan brand. I should have noted down what they were called.

Leave a Reply

