One Hit Wonder Wednesday (well sorta…)

Sorta in the sense that this song is definitely not the only one this performer has done, and she has had a successful career apart from this song, just not a chart success. Which really is not such a big deal, other people in the same category include: Jimi Hendrix, Janis Joplin, Shinedown, Siouxsie and the Banshees, The White Stripes, Muse, Iggy Pop etc etc… Not bad company to be keeping I think!

I totally remember this song, and I also remember loving the lyrics. Even if it did end up being somewhat overplayed in the end, but that is the fate of several good songs. I think my favourite line altogether is this one: 

Just trying to make his way home, like a holy rolling stone…

Yes I am indeed talking about One of Us by Joan Osborne.

Funny thing is after this song I heard no more about her for years, now having looked her up on Wikipeda (as you do) I realised that she had been releasing several albums which were to be expected really. However most of her output are not really as much in the pop genre as this particular song, something I found out when she suddenly turned up on the Transatlantic Session on BBC Scotland. (Yeah I admit it I have a soft spot for traditional music, I am not ashamed of that!)

Recently she turned up again, this time on my “radio station” on jango. The station I started was Sinéad O’Connor  and a song called Spider Web came on, I will admit to liking this really bluesy tune a lot more than One of Us, however one thing the two songs have in common are funny yet poignant lyrics!

About Mari

Norwegian living in Malta, loves colours and cooking, running and taking pictures and generally rambling, both the in the wordy sense and the walking about kind...
This entry was posted in Music, One Hit Wonder Wednesday. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

