Things I have learnt, from my mother…

If it hurts, cut it off… Yes she did really use to say that, and no she didn’t mean it. (Well, at least I think so) It is actually a pretty important lesson in here, because this would be the message we’d get if we were just complaining idly or for something that we either could do something about or that really was not all that bad. If we were really hurt it was another story, funnily enough the times that I have injured myself worst I have been complaining least, go figure. So the moral is really, don’t complain do something about it…

Yeast doughs are not scary at all… For me the concept of them being scary is a little alien actually, as they have been a matter of fact part of my life from a young age. I didn’t really realise until (scarily) late that most people don’t bake their own bread. Furthermore my mother (and grandmother’s) cinnamon rolls are legendary. I will probably return to them later with recipe. Trust me though, there is nothing difficult or scary about baking with yeast, all you need is patience and yeah that’s it really…

Mathematics… Yes I have also been blessed with some amazingly brilliant (and some not so good) maths teachers, but I know for a fact that the way I approach a maths problem is all down to my mother. The things I have taken away are unscrambling the question, as in rewrite it in my own words or figures (equations rule!); read the book, just because you can’t remember something there in then it does not mean that it is impossible, just read and you will find; understand don’t learn by heart, this might just be the most important of them all. It sure saved me a lot of time and heartache. Seriously! If you understand how they work you really don’t need to remember lots of formulas, you can just logically assemble them. Did I mention that equations rule?

To be continued…

Mamma-Crete

About Mari

Norwegian living in Malta, loves colours and cooking, running and taking pictures and generally rambling, both the in the wordy sense and the walking about kind...
This entry was posted in Family, Random. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Things I have learnt, from my mother…

  1. Ellen M. says:

    Næmmenialledagerda! Blir jo helt rørt her jeg sitter på jobben .. Har gjort noe riktig da i hvert fall. (Og nei, jeg mente ikke at at dere skulle kutte av noe som helst .. i hvert fall ikke hvis det ikke var strengt nødvendig .. ).

Leave a Reply

