Wonderfully versatile thymey mushrooms (vegan)

I love this way of preparing mushrooms and it is also really simple, now if you have wild mushrooms you really don’t need to add much to make them wonderful. However I find the button mushrooms you find in the shops might just need a little bit of a helping hand… The thyme really works a treat with the earthy flavour of the mushrooms and the balsamic vinegar not only gives them a lovely deep colour but adds a necessary acidic twist as well as depth. Oh and garlic, I mean do I need to say what it does? Garlic is just amazing stuff…

Wonderfully versatile thymey mushrooms  (vegan)

mushrooms-thyme-garlic

Ingredients

2 good handfuls of mushrooms (I had about 15+ however size matters people… If they are bigger you need less, and well you know vice versa)
1 T olive oil (or more to taste)
2 cloves of garlic, minced (mine were on the small side so I used two, again size…)
1-2 T fresh thyme, chopped
 1-2 T balsamic vinegar (if you feel like using red wine instead, I will not judge you…)

1. Chop the mushrooms into bite size pieces, I normally chop the smaller ones into 4 and the larger ones into 6.
2. Pour a generous amount of olive oil into a frying pan, how much you use is really up to you, I stipulated 1 T. That is probably the smallest amount you can get away with, I used more because I love the taste of olive oil.
3. Fry the onions over medium heat for several minutes until they start to colour and reduce in size.
4. Add the garlic and thyme and let it fry with the mushrooms for a couple of minutes.
5. Turn up the heat and add the balsamic vinegar, you want to sauté the mushrooms in this until the vinegar has almost all been absorbed.
6. Enjoy however you see fit.

There are so many ways you can use these mushrooms, I have used them to add some extra zing to a normal pasta with tomato sauce, they are lovely added on top of salads, I am pretty sure they would work wonderfully as an accompaniment to any sort of meaty dish. Today however I used them to take a rather nice “salad” to the next level. Salad is a little bit of a misnomer here, basically I served rocket topped with a vegetable heavy tomato sauce (warm) and the mushrooms, to round it all off and add lovely crunch I added flaked almonds, pumpkin seeds (pepitas) and raw buckwheat. It was spectacular, all the parts were good but the mushrooms were the stars of the show!

thymey-mushrooms

Oh and just in case you wonder what to do with any left over thyme… Freeze it!

thyme-freezing

Chop it up into the size you’d like and put it in a glass jar and chuck it all in the freezer, it works really well. Using a jar from your favourite Gozitan organic farmer is completely optional…

thyme-charles-vella

About Mari

Norwegian living in Malta, loves colours and cooking, running and taking pictures and generally rambling, both the in the wordy sense and the walking about kind...
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes, vegan. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wonderfully versatile thymey mushrooms (vegan)

  1. jessyblogs says:

    You freeze the thyme in a jar? Doesn’t it like… crack? 😛 Or am I completely wrong here? And the mushrooms sound delicious!

    • Mari says:

      Nope works a treat!

      Mind if you filled it full with water and screwed the lid on tightly it probably would crack… I remember my parents doing it when I was a kid too, I don’t have a deep freezer though, only a normal one above the fridge.

  2. Jules says:

    This looks delicious, I love mushrooms.

    • Mari says:

      It is really yummy and super easy too! Mushrooms are one of those things that I keep forgetting about, more’s the pity, they are so delicious!

Leave a Reply

