Ginger & Lemon Cookies (vegan & gluten free)

Some of you might have noticed that I have a slight addiction to ginger… I guess that the triple ginger muffins were a bit of a giveaway. Or the fact that at least half of my recipes contain ginger… However as of right now ginger is supposed to be really good for you so I see no reason not to gobble it down, the fact that is taste delicious too is a boon!

These cookies are similar to my Chocolate Covered Acai Berry Cookies so they are again related to Wing it Vegan’s fantastic Mutant Flourless Chocolate Cookies, however this time I have deviated so much from the original recipe that I will write it out in full. I think the idea to use quinoa flakes came from Gena at Choosing Raw I really really need to make her Ancient Grain Banana Breakfast Bread, that sounds so yummylicious that I will overrule my stomach’s grumbling about bananas. (We do not agree about them, I love them, Mr Stomach most certainly not. Le sigh…)

Anyhow now on to the recipe!

Ginger-&-lemon-cookies

Makes 10-12 small cookies (I used my tablespoon measure to measure up)

Ingredients

¼ cup + 1T dessicated coconut
¼ cup quinoa flakes
¼ cup + 1T ground almonds
¼ cup rapadura sugar (brown sugar will do fine)
2T physilum husk (optional, I added it because I had some and it adds gluten free fiber)
Pinch salt
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/8 tsp bicarbonate of soda
½ tsp ground ginger
¼ tsp cinnamon
1 T lucuma (optional it does add a slight sweetness though, but I don’t think you’ll need to replace it)

1T cocnut oil
1T blackstrap molasses (it adds a lovely depth of flavour, but maple syrup or honey would be great substitutes, both of these are sweeter though, so you might want to use less. Unless you would like it more sweet, in which case: Go for it!)
1/3 cup almond butter
2T finely chopped fresh ginger (I chose to chop it as I wanted to taste the pieces, if you are less of a ginger lover than I am you can certainly grate it)
1T sushi ginger finely choped
1T liquid from the jar of sushi ginger (this stuff is too delicious to throw away!)
zest from 1 lemon (because lemon and ginger is a match made in heaven)
1T vanilla
4 T milk of choice, this time I used oat milk

1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees
2. Mix all the dry ingredients in one bowl
3. Mix all the wet ingredients in a separate bowl
4. Add one to the other (I’m not fussed which goes into where, but I would suggest putting it in the biggest bowl 😉 )
5. Stir till a dough forms
6. Using a spoon of choice drop the dough onto a baking sheet
7. Slightly flatten them (and somewhat shape them if you are as haphazard as me and they end up not remotely round on the first try…)
8. Bake in the oven for about 14 minutes (do put them in the middle of the oven, if you happen to be too lazy to remove the rack already in the oven and just pop them on the bottom they just might burn. Not that I’d know…)

Enjoy!

Ginger-lemon-cookies-chocolate

I prefer these pretty fresh out of the oven when they are gooey and crisp, the flavour is still amazing the next day but they are a lot softer and cakelike. Now that is not necessarily a bad thing, just a matter of preference I guess. Store them in an airtight container as you would normal cookies, easy as pie! (As you can see from the picture above I added chocolate chips to some of the cookies, although chocolate is never wrong I was surprised to discover that I actually preferred them without. Now that’s a first!)

I do apologise for the slightly off photos, I was more interested in eating them than taking photos…

Ginger-lemon-cookies-bite

Case in point…

Just a few points to sign off…

I subscribe to a monthly news letter from the Soil Association and currently they are mobilising to stop the development of a mega factory farm in Derbyshire. If you have the time please head over to Derbyshire County Council to voice your concern, it does work the first application was turned down! Anyone who has read Michael Pollan’s The Omnivore’s Dilemma is well up to date when it comes to the horrible conditions on factory farms, however the Soil Association makes some excellent points too and you can check them out here.

The lovely Freya also mentioned this on her blog, thank you so much! (A lot more people read her blog than mine, totally understandable too 😉 )

Oh and HAPPY EASTER!

About Mari

Norwegian living in Malta, loves colours and cooking, running and taking pictures and generally rambling, both the in the wordy sense and the walking about kind...
This entry was posted in Almonds, Cinnamon, Cookies, Food, Ginger, Gluten free, Recipes, vegan. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ginger & Lemon Cookies (vegan & gluten free)

  1. Yum those sound so good. We are mostly gluten free at our house and I love running across fun new recipes like this.

    • Mari says:

      Hope you like them! The base is really versatile too, so you can make them whatever flavour you like, I’m pretty sure an orange and chocolate combo would be lovely for instance. I might just have to try that out… 😀

Leave a Reply

