Reading…

It is no secret that I am an avid reader, pretty sure I’ve mentioned it on here more than once, and have been since I learnt to read. Well, there is a story of me from when I was just a wee toddler that I would sit on my favourite (red) chair and “read” out my favourite book aloud… I think read is stretching it, recite is probably more accurate. I have no idea what the book was about, I somehow think it was green (complimentary contrast with the chair going on here, I might totally be making that bit up though), I am pretty certain that parents and or grandparents might remember more about this instance.

I also blame them for my obsession, well blame is the wrong word thank them would be more accurate. For putting up with reading the same books over and over and over and over… They did however rather cleverly introduce us to books they enjoyed as well, anything by Roald Dahl and Tor Åge Bringsværd’s series about Norse mythology (the illustrations for these books are amazing!!!) for instance. Not to mention well as the Norwegian children’s classics by Torbjørn Egner, as the oldest of three I’ve had a few of them repeated a few extra times. Me and my mum do a mean recital of the scene where the fox (Mikkel Rev) visits hares’ bakery, if you’re Norwegian you’ll know what I mean if not I am pretty sure there are similar books in most other languages. 😉

I read pretty much anything from prose to children’s books (hey, some of them are really good!), however I do not read much crime (apart from Agatha Christie) or thrillers. Not that I despise the genre or anything, it’s just that I like sleeping and my imagination is a little too good at turning slightly scary stuff into something terrifying… Nuff said… I have never quite caught the Twilight bug either, don’t think I will read them now. We’ll see though, never say never etc. etc.

My problem is that I get rather caught up when I read a book, I am not so bad when it comes to popular science. Whilst I enjoy reading these books I am actually able to put them down, not so much so with fiction… I can be rather lost to the world until I finish a book, luckily I read rather fast. (Does not help all that much when what I decide to read is the Lord of the Rings, or the full Harry Potter series, come on you can’t just read one of them… All or nothing!)

However my point being… I am reading the latest Rick Riordan book at the moment, so please excuse me, I’ve got reading to do!

About Mari

Norwegian living in Malta, loves colours and cooking, running and taking pictures and generally rambling, both the in the wordy sense and the walking about kind...
This entry was posted in books, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Reading…

  1. Kristin Brænne says:

    ★★★★★

  2. pawsitivelife says:

    I love reading too, but I probably read way too much. I like discovering series when all the books are already out and I dont have to wait for years for the next one

    • Mari says:

      Totally agree, waiting for the next book in a series is agony!

      The Rick Riordan one I just read happens to be the first in a series of 5, and it only just came out… Not good timing from my side here…

Leave a Reply

