Oh happy day!

Yes I do love this movie, not because it is a great movie, but because I am a sucker for a happy ending with songs…

The reason for the video is simple though, today is the 17th of May, that is the day Norway celebrate our constitution. This means the day off, children’s parades all over the country, marching bands, national costumes (bunad), lots of ice-cream etc. etc. This youtube video capture some of it…

It’s been too long since I was home for the 17th of May!!! I really miss it…

More happy news! I got a blog award yesterday, from the lovely Imagine the Spirit! The blog is wonderfully random, which I totally appreciate.

The idea with these awards is that you do something and pass it on… This one requires me to first thank the one who gave it to me by linking back to their blog, then write seven things about myself and then pass it on to 15 newly discovered blogs. First one is already done, I’m sure I can do the second one easily enough, I’ve chosen to only do 5 blogs though, that is because I want to write the reason why each of them is great and it is getting well past my bed time now… 😀

  •  I prefer the sea when it is tumultuous…
  • I am pretty much in love with the nature, light and so much more in Scotland.
  • I love my camera, well that was hardly news…
  • I’m going to Zurich for a colour conference next month, and I am getting the train across the Alps from Italy. Can’t wait to see the view!
  • My favourite season is the next one, or rather I love the change of the seasons. The sudden smell in the air that heralds a new season, there’s nothing quite like it.
  • I’ve been on stage with George Clinton.
  • I collect fonts… (Well if you’ve had a look on my about page I told you I was a geek…)

I would like to pass this award on to:

Anywhere there is an Airport – a blog straddling the Atlantic, I can’t think of anything more versatile… Also because I really enjoy reading it and can relate to a lot of the issues, and I have only moved south within Europe not across an ocean… (Also check out her tips for packing light, we’re talking pro here!)

A thought & Glassa Wine – because the first post that came up when I clicked through the other day was called: Encouragement…Pass it on

delighted –  Lovely photos, eclectic style, wonderful design finds and lots more. Oh and she lives in Edinburgh, ’nuff said!

September Lilies – the most random rambling blog you’ll ever find, trust me on this one…

Street Life [by PP Handoko] – this girl is an amazing photographer! Check this blog out, seriously it is wonderful!

In honour of the 17th of May, I will finish this post with two pictures I took in Norway. This December… Very springlike and all…

bush-in-snow

dry-herbs-in-bowl

About Mari

Norwegian living in Malta, loves colours and cooking, running and taking pictures and generally rambling, both the in the wordy sense and the walking about kind...
This entry was posted in Norway, Thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oh happy day!

  1. I seriously love a good gospel choir! Only to be beat my a boys gospel choir.

    Happy Norway Constitution Day to you! Do you say that? I’m not even sure we in the States actually say “Happy 4th of July” … hmm?

    And thank you again for the blog award! It’s amazing to meet such wonderful people through the internet who are continents and countries away. Who knew this would be normal life when once upon a time we had to dial-up! 🙂

    • Mari says:

      You’re so right, shivers down my spine everytime I hear a good one. Lucked out one year and caught the Harlem Gospel Choir for a Christmas Concert back home in Norway, only thing that beats a gospel choir is a gospel choir and Christmas!

      For some reason we use the same term on the 17th of May (gratulerer med dagen), as we do on a birthday. In a sense I guess it makes sense as it is the day that Norway was “born”. However happy birthday does not quite work, so Happy 17th of May is probably the best bet in English. 😉

      Oh I do remember dial-up, now I really can’t imagine how I ever had the patience back then… You are totally right I’ve met so many fantastic people through the internet, mind blowing really.

Leave a Reply

